The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

The letter by the parent to the private school principal predicts that if the new private vendor, Swift nutrition, who was given the cafeteria management last year, is not replaced by other vendor , the students will start bringing their own, 'less healthy" lunches and may lead to serious health consequences. She posits that students do not find the food served by the new vendor, as a reason to support her prediction. The intent of the parent is good as he is worried about health of students but there are few questions that need to be answered before ascertaining the possibility of the prediction to come out to be true.

By reading the letter carefully, a very obvious question the comes to the reader mind is that , "How many students in the school do not like the served food?". The parent has although mentioned that his son and several of his friends came to him to complain about the lunch options, but the word 'several' is relative and ambiguous. It is possibility that a very small proportion of the school students actually find the food not enjoyable. The answer to this question can seriously damage the possibility of the prediction to be true. If in actual large number of students don't like the served food, the prediction might be true but the other case is not propitious for the assumption.

Even if we consider the answer to the previous question propitious to the prediction, i.e. the majority of students don't like the serve food. The question arises that "Is replacing the vendor the only solution to the problem?".Because the problem is with the food served by vendor and not with the vendor itself, It can be considered to improve the food by taking the case with vendor. The reasonability of the prediction depend on the answer to the question that "Whether there have been sufficient previous attempts to talk to the vendor to improve his food?". If there have been sufficient attempts for the purpose and have not yielded any result favourable to the students, the situation may favour the prediction and the opposite answer undermines the prediction.

Even if the vendor does not improve the food even after repetitive attempts by the school and that leads to the students bringing their own food, it can by no means posited that the food will be less healthy. It is pMoreover, even if there is consideration to replace the vendor, it should be enquired that "If any better vendors are available that can provide enjoyable and healthy food to students?". If the answer to this is a "NO", then the replacement of the vendor by the new one will not help in solving the problem.