An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The arguments mentioned here addresses the issue of Vit A deficiency in Tagus and concludes that the government of Tugas should promote the millet seed engineered by the organisation based on the reasoning that it is rich in Vit A. But many questions needs to be answered to assess the viability of conclusion.

The argument states that the seed is rich in Vitamin A but other parameters such as yield of the new seed. Yield is a very important parameter to assess the viabilty of a good seed. If improvement in Vit A, which is a quality aspect, reduces the quantity aspect which is yield, itcan pose threat to food security of that nation because millet being mentioned as staple food of that country. So, benefits of gain on Vit A content should be compared to effects of loss in other aspects.

Further, a food should have an essential quality factor associated with it which is taste. There is possibility that Vit. A increase can lead to release of protiens that reduce the taste aspect of millet and can therefore reduce consumer acceptance. Since the argument bases itself on the reasoning that people of Tagus will really adapt the new variety, the question regarding the taste can seriously undermine the viability of seed.

Even if questions of taste and yield are propitious towards the seed viability, the economics of the seed seriously hamper its viability. As mentioned the seed is costlier as possible solution tha the argument provides is through subsidies. The question that remains unanswered is about the institution that will provide subsidy. Will it be the impoverished government or the intenational organisation itself? If the responsibility is incumbent on the already poor government, the success of the program can be doubted.

The government in that case would have to think about the comparative costs of other alternative to fight the deficiency. The position of the argument in its last sentence implicitly states that there are no other alternatives to this problem. But there can be better economical and more viable.