The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants:

"Recently,butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy withthe change. Further more, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead.Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author suggests that a recipe replacement from butter to margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants probably would lead to a financial benefit with no obvious customers’ complain.

The writer of the memorandum claims that only 2 percent of the customers complain about the recipe change and the others are satisfied with it. However, it fails to consider another explanation regarding the validity, scope and representative. For example, the survey questionnaire could not be fully-representative at all, maybe it just ask 50 people in the restaurants in a month, but there are actually 20,000 customers during that period. If the results of survey is not enough representative, then the credibility of the results would be problematic. Or the content in the survey has proclivity because the store owner wants to replace the butter with margarine. For instance, the survey of the question could be designed to ask their customers like this, are you satisfied with today’s dishes with margarine? If the customers leaves positive feedback, the store owner gives them a coupon for next usage. The author has to consider this kind of explanation to make the argument more cogent.

Even if the questionnaire is fully-representative, validity with adequate scope, the information reported from the servers could be questionable. It may be true, that the servers really care about the feeling of the customers and report to their manager honestly. Still, the servers could lie because they want to leave positive imagine or they just don’t want to write the report of the complains. Because most of cases, the business requires a fully detail description of the complaining case from customer, and the waiters don’t want to get involved in the routine stuff. The author needs to address this alternative explanation to make the argument more convincing.

Additionally, the writer mentions that the customer who couldn’t distinguish the butter and the margarine still use the term butter refer to either margarine or butter. That could be real, the customer don’t know the difference because he or she tastes like the same and the sense of the flavor is subjective. Nevertheless, the customer could just use the same term as before, he or she actually could tell the difference and just hide his or her angry because he or she plans to send this scandal to the news and let everyone know. Of this case, the consequence has a tremendous impact on the owner business, the author has to consider the possibility of the alternative explanation to make the business robust on the track.

In conclusion, the author needs to consider the alternative explanations mentioned above to make the argument more convincing.