The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants. "Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, we predict that Happy Pancake House will be able to increase profits dramatically if we extend this cost-saving change to all our restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well." Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the given memorandum it is stated that if the restaurants in the southeast and northeast were able to change the butter with the margarine the profit of the restaurants can be enhanced by adopting these cost-saving changes. The business manager has come to this conclusion based on the given shreds of evidence that margarine plays a pivotal role in the cost-saving strategy. However, the business manager might be correct but there are several questions to be answered to call it a perfect assertion and the unwarranted assumptions put forward by the businessman need to be meticulously examined.

First of all, the businessman is concerned that the profit can be enhanced in the southeast and as well as in the northeast by adopting the same strategy that has been used in the southwestern United States. On the contrary, the people of the southeast and northeast may not have the similar taste as the people of the southwestern. The people may be loath towards the margarine if this scenario might happen the various restaurants may face a notorious situation that thwarts the business that has been prevailing for a long time in the southeast and as well as northeast. If either of the scenarios presented has merit then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is weakened.

Secondly, from the given argument it has been presumed that some people in people in the southeast, as well as the northeast, cannot differentiate butter from margarine. However, this may not be the case the people of the southeast and as well as the northeast may easily differentiate the butter from margarine and they may rail against the restaurant’s managers of the pancakes and there may stem the sense of the disappointment among the people more people may rail about the quality of the pancakes provided by the restaurants.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed predicated on the flawed assumptions. If the author is able to answer the questions raised above and offer more evidence ( in the form of a systematic research study ) then it is possible to strengthen.