The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine." Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

This note is wrriten about replacing of butter with margarine in a restaurant . The author from some facial information concluded that this replacment had slight effect on their customers,and also refuse customers’ ability to identify butter from margarine, however, getting accurate on this issue clarify that there might be other explanations than what author mentioned above.

First, it is stated that only 2 percent of customers complained about margarin used instead of butter, and so the 98% rest were happy of these event. This explanation does not seem very convincing, it could happen because only those 2 percent have more pugnacious personality and believe that they should reveal their unsatisfactory,vocally, and consider it as consumer’s right , while other did not do so , maybe because they are more reticent or they felt shame or ciritcising is not an acceptable trait in their culture. Thus, it can not be concluded that 98% of customers are agree with butter replacement because only 2% show their objection.

Further, the author claim that some customers do not oppose when are given margarine instesd of butter, hence, they do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the same term for both.It is not a cogent statement, too. Again it is probable that they do not reveal their disagreement due to various reasons. Also, it is possible that some people do not complain because it is no matter for them and they are indifferent about tastes of butter and margarine. Also,maybe they like both of them and decide to not complain.

As what is mentioned above, it could be concluded that author’s explanation is not convincing enuogh and there are alternative explanations that could justify customers bahaviour.