'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the c

The previous passage claims that a television station should restore air time in their late-night news program to local news and weather because most complaints they receive are about their coverage of these topics and because they are losing ad contracts. However, these reasons alone would not be enough to executives to make the proposed changes because more information is needed.

First, let's address the issue of coverage complaints. The business manager states that the bulk of the complaints are about the coverage but does not say what those complaints are saying. Therefore, those complaining could have no qualm with the actual time allotted to coverage because complaints could be about the manner in which this information is delivered. If the complaints were mentioning the shortened time as their reason for submission, then the author could make a stronger case that restoring time would boost viewership.

Further, we have no idea whether the level of complaints the station received was any more or less than in previous years. If the amount was roughly average, for instance, then this point would no longer support the author's argument. Without more information on the content of this year's complaints and comparison with previous year's complaints, the relationship between complaints and shortening the time devoted to local news and weather is ambiguous.

The second piece of evidence the business manager points to is the canceled advertising contracts. While underwriting of the late-night program has decreased, there is not a direct relationship established between it and the shortened segments. This is because there are other variables that could be affecting the willingness of advertiser's to support the program. One unknown is the economy, and one way that this could play out is if there has been an economic downturn then we will see less business spending. If this was the case, we could expect contracts of programs to be canceled across programs or for programs with less viewership. To understand this better we would have to look at the broader and local economy and examine ad revenue across the programming. Another variable that could negatively affect sponsorship is increased competition from the internet. It is a fact that information outlets on the internet are disrupting traditional media and threatening its future existence. Thousands of newspapers have shut-down in the past decade and more and more traditional outlets are streaming their news online. Perhaps advertisers are pulling out because they'd prefer to invest in programming on the web.

The manager also hasn't included a big piece of the puzzle which is viewership. Has it gone down or up from previous years? The author cannot support their claim of canceled ad contracts without more information regarding the level of viewership and other variables such as the state of the economy, competition and consumer preference changes.

Regarding consumer preferences, they may be changing. Younger generations may prefer to get their news and weather online. Further, national news consumption may be more and more accessed via national networks or online aggregators. Therefore, differentiation is key, as well as making sure they are meeting the needs of current viewers while recruiting a new generation. Therefore, it is understandable that the station may want to consider focusing less on national news, i.e., information that is easily accessed elsewhere and for which they have no special take on, and more on news and information at the spatially granular level.

However, the business manager's current argument is weak.