A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

A nation should not require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. A universal curriculum dictated by the government is problematic due to political, philosophical and practical concerns.

The higher-order issues I have with a government-enforced curriculum hinge upon the age-old quandary of government versus local or even individual control. Such a dictate would impede upon the ability of local level, individual and communities to have control and influence over their youth's education. There are many different regions in the United States and even simple things such as history could be affected by a Federally scripted curriculum. Children would be missing their particular region's history of participation in aspects of US History, for instance.

There are many constituents who prefer to have control over what their children learn. I myself am not a person of faith, but those who have the constitutional right to practice their religion without interference. Some Federally mandatory curriculum, especially that involving social or sexual education, could directly contradict those person's beliefs. Further, many religions, such as Latter Day Saints, require their young to take weekly or daily classes on religious study. A Federally controlled curriculum, if it did not make allowances for those courses or give students and their families the opportunity to opt-out of some material would violate the constitution.

A comprehensive curriculum has practical issues on top of the argument of power and rights because children have different needs. Students with learning disabilities or different learning styles would not receive the type of support they need and would struggle to succeed. Children with different aspirations, those who become more interested in a technical, faith-based or artistic vocation would not have the opportunity to devote enough time enriching the skills of their particular interests. Charter schools with a focus, such as on STEM, arts, or classical curriculum are popular. With flattened curriculum, these schools would cease to exist and children would no longer be able to compete in these areas with foreign children who have more opportunity to hone their talents.

Proponents of a universal national curriculum would criticize the influence of local control and specialty education because it result would be too much experimentation, variability between regions in terms of outcomes and knowledge of students, as well as not having enough quality control of the curriculum. However, a better way would be to incorporate a baseline of core competencies that students must perform to. This would mean that all youth across the nation would be expected to be proficient in basic skills, literacy, math and the like, but there would be enough room beyond the core education to incorporate specialty foci and to customize a student's education experience to suit their interests, the interests of their community, their faith and needs.