To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is said that to understand the essential characteristics of a society that one should study its major cities. On its face, this thesis appears reasonable, after all, if we are the narrow the definitional scope of a society to a nation-state, the city typically holds the most important functions which reflexively inform and are informed by the culture of large portions of the population. Even in this statement, there exists at least one crucial flaw: that we assume all societies to be modern. Plainly, ancient and relatively primitive societies with few or no cities cannot be understood via the same criteria. Historical statues or technological prowess notwithstanding, even to judge a modern society by its cities will not provide a holistic understanding as it will be incomplete at least without also examining the non-urban areas, and mainly the rural.

Cities play essential roles in today's modern nation-state based societies. They are commonly the home of national sub-national capitals and therefore lay claim to administrative and legislative duties that significantly influence a societies beliefs about laws, crime, leadership, and so forth. We also often see other prominent and influential institutions housed in the cities such as universities, think tanks, museums, symphonies and art galleries and sports arenas. In this spaces, societal ideals are generated, shared, taught, and debated. On a micro-level, one could even argue that the sheer number of population density in a city allows for multiple restaurants, boutiques, and other small-scale structures where vital the work of social characterization occurs via public interaction. There's no denying that the scale of public works, forum, and interaction within a city provides a prodigious amount of character to its respective society. However, how many nations are made up of cities alone?

To get a more comprehensive understanding, one should also examine rural locales. Contemporary rural regions are often strikingly different from its urban counterpoint in societies found in post-industrial and less developed nations. It is possible that the economic status of its inhabitants, political views, and demography of a rural region are nothing like a city and hence why people flock to cities. Further, it is internationally known expected that the majority of earth's population will be found in cities sometime this century, therefore increasing the divergence of the character of regions and ergo their sub-societies.

Take the United States, for example. Economically, much of the rural regions and small towns have been suffering due to industry loss. Thanks to automation and outsourcing, much of manufacturing has disappeared from the rural landscape or no longer needs many workers. Thanks to a decreased reliance on old energy, the coal miner is becoming rarer. Main street USA is a ghost town with Walmarts being one of the few reliable and robust employers as well as markets in ruralities. There are also demographic differences in small towns which tend to be less ethnically diverse. Opportunistic politicians have wielded the largescale grievances of a dispossessed and relatively more homogenous rural population into a political movement; thus the rural region is red in contrast to the city's traditionally blue political leaning. One can see how the politics, economics, and demographics of a rural area certainly complicate an urban-based understanding of the American society.

There may not be one reading of a nation's people and its character. Undoubtedly, cities are critical entities for picking up on significant trends, institutional characteristics, and both cutting edge and mainstream facets of society. Should we choose to ignore the flip side, that is the rural population's culture and viewpoints, we risk achieving a superficial and perhaps elitist reckoning.