The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

As part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal, several pieces of evidence were outlined to support the theory of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. However, there are several holes in the argument including issues of validity within the first study cited. In the following essay, I will begin by refuting the claim then provide an alternative, namely, that it is not birth order that determines behavior in relation to stimulation, but rather an individual's level of experience.

Evidence provided by the letter writer does no sufficiently argue the claim because some is invalid and others irrelevant. The letter begins by citing a study performed on 18 rhesus monkeys but 18 is too small a sample size to make generalities and the study doesn't seem to differentiate between siblings beyond the first-born. Therefore, the this study does not examine birth order, but merely first born versus the remainder, and only for a small amount of very specific animals. This is not generalizable. While relevant, the second piece of evidence is merely stated as fact without grounds, and the last bit of evidence about first-time mothers is irrelevant. Therefore, none of the support statements seem to adequately explain the hypothesis.

However, there is another idea that reconciles the evidence to the theory: instead of birth-order, it is overall level of experience that matters. Individuals that are older are more likely to have more experiences relative to their younger counterparts and thus have more available information from which they can mine and more aptly prepare themselves in future similar events.

All three pieces of evidence from the letter can rely upon this logic. Firstly, the first-born, or older monkey, would have increased levels of cortisol because the monkey, based on experience, knows that the encounter with a strange monkey will require increased activity. A younger monkey, naive in its life experiences, would not necessarily yet know what a strange encounter would entail nor what action occurs as a consequence. The same line of reasoning explains why older siblings would produce relatively higher levels of cortisol in stimulating environments. Finally, while we again apply the age theory to the last evidence, we see the older individuals expressing lower levels of cortisol instead of higher. This reversal can be explained by talking to any mother or more than one child. The first pregnancy causes a new mother to worry and fret, and therefore induce cortisol, while a wisened mother by their second or third child is knows what to expect and is therefore more at ease after a first birth.

When examining the justification of any argument, we should always question the claims. We may find issues with the experiment design or flaws in the logic. In some cases, the evidence is a complete red-herring! We should also see if we can't find alternatives that eliminate such spurious arguments. In the case of birth order's effect on a levels stimulation, we find that the evidence was wanting and that a far simpler logic prevailed: a wisened person will better forecast and prepare for future events than their younger peers.