As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There is a belief that as humans continue to rely on technological progress to proffer solutions to human problems, that our critical thinking capacity will drop. However, perhaps technology has given us more time and ability to dedicate thoughts to more lofty and critical issues via eliminating physical labor and delimiting tedium. With the recent advent of social networking technology, one could see where having too much freedom and openness has led to the information bubbles that feed people information they already agree with, but as will be shown, this conclusion is not a result of the technology itself but rather from our own inherent problematic behavior.

Since the beginning of American mass-manufacturing era, new tools have been touted as time saving devices. Refrigerators, dishwashers, washing machines and all sorts of domestic appliances were sold on the by-line that it would liberate women from the backbreaking time consuming work they performed in order to maintain a comfortable home. This led to women having more time to involve themselves with matters other than domesticity and from being merely a laborer. This would be an important first step at the home front for the appearance of feminism. In this way, limiting the amount of physical labor humans perform means that it became possible for people to consider revolutionary ideas.

But technology has also lessened the amount of mental exertion we apply to tedium. Long form written financial accounting has been replaced by Excel spreadsheets and even more advanced business intelligence analytical tools. Accountants moved beyond their role as pencil-pushers to learn new skills and move up the ranks. When we let technology do things like number-crunching, perfunctory tasks that require no deep thinking, we have time to employ our critical thinking towards learning.

Both of the previous ideas are regarding how technology gives us more freedom, but can technology also delimit it? We can point to recent developments in the meddling of the 2016 American Presidential election as an example of how outside interests were able to exploit the lack of diversity in our newsfeeds and social media to encourage their preferred outcome. Certainly, domestic laborers and pencil pushers would have had little time to engage in "flame-wars" on the internet. While it is true that with increased time on our hands, many of us expend it wastefully, it is our own choice to do so, and fundamentally not technology that left it as our only option. If anything, technology has only hastened the speed with which we reveal our sometimes unfortunately solipsistic nature.