Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The provided passage suggests that baskets with a specific pattern are not particular to a certain prehistoric village called Pelea due to the discovery of a similar basket in Lithos, a village across the Brim River. Yet, sufficient evidence is not included to support this claim. To better address the claim, one would need to know more such as whether the Brim's historical geography, whether the villages were in touch with outside cultures, and the timeline of these villages existences and a scientific time-dating of the found baskets themselves.

Firstly, the claim lacks basic chronological information. To clarify the statements, the inclusion of a timeline of each group's history and the baskets' time-dating are necessary. Thus, there would be a clear determination of the baskets' and villages' age. From there, a comparison would reveal whether baskets were made at the same time, or if the villages coexisted, for instance. These are fundamental house-cleaning checks for any further analysis.

With the chronology squared, we reconsider the assumption that the Paleans did not introduce their weaving style to Lithos due to geographic barriers. The Brim river, which separates the two cultures, is too broad and deep for any other crossing beside boat. Further, researchers have found no Palean boats. Ignoring the possibility of Litho boats (a statement not made in the passage), it is unclear whether the river assessment is based on a historical reckoning of the river and surrounding geographic features. Rivers may shift paths over time without artificial harnessing. Weather patterns also change throughout time. It is possible that the river was more narrow, more dry, or less deep and therefore navigable in the ancient era without the help of technology. Indeed, if passable, the Palean could have shared the knowledge. On the other hand, if not, then we strengthen the current argument.

The question of geography relies upon the assumption of Palean weaving, but what if that conclusion is erroneous? An alternative is that outsiders either introduced or influenced the design. It is possible that travelers brought baskets or designs on other items. This would still support the claim that the model is not specific to Palea but on a different basis. If these outsiders were nomads, that could explain why baskets exist in more than one area. Trade was not uncommon for prehistoric peoples. For example, bartered artifacts from as far away as Florida were found in the ancient Cahokia Mounds of Southern Illinois. With more inquiry into the theory of influencers, the claim may still stand, only the reason for why the baskets are not unique to Palea would change.

If the author is to provide their best attempt at an enhanced and factual ethnography, then they must include time-dating, a timeline of the villages, a historical understanding of the river's spatial features and the region's concurrent weather patterns, as well as a consideration of the cultural impact of nomads in the area. While it is not clear whether the outcome of each investigation would support or dispute the passage's argument, it is certain that they would bolster any conclusion's rigor.