The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The business manager of television news station strongly believes that by restoring time devoted to weather and local news, revenues from advertising would increase.There are a lot of assumptions and claims drawn by not-so reliable means and the following passages shall elucidate as to why these assumptions do not stand well.

Firstly, the business manager has decided to take into account the complaints from viewers only in the past year. There may be several other complaints based on the quality of the news content being broadcasted which the manager seems to have ignored. For example, if the complaints have been steadily increasing over several years and if the surge of complaints in the last year were only linked to the increased coverage of national news, then an increased coverage of local news and weather would do very little to attact more viewers as there could be several factors for a drop in revenue.

Secondly, the locations from where most of the complaints came from should also be taken into consideration. For instance, regions which experience inclement weather conditions and are prone to hurricanes, would naturally prefer greater coverage on weather. However, places with mostly mild weather conditions would not care much about the decreased coverage. As explained in the previous paragraph, there may have other complaints from such places which the business manager may have ignored such as a drop in quality of national news content that is being broadcasted.

Thirdly, local businesses would love to be able to advertise to a larger audience, as it would aid in making their brand or business known to a greater number of people. If they resorted to canceling their advertising contracts, right after the news program switched to airing national news, then there could be others detrimental factors in play. For instance, the late-night news program, beleiving that they now cater to a larger audience, might have drastically increased their advertising charges, causing local businesses to cancel their contracts. The televsion station might have also given a partial preference towards very popular brands hoping they would rake in greater advertising revenues, this would have led the local businesses to find cost effective alternatives. In such a scenario, increasing coverage to local news and weather would not significantly allow the newstation to reap profits.

In order to make an informed decision, the news station would have to take several factors into consideration such as the nature of complaints, the location from where these complaints arose, the opinions of local businesses as to their preferred advertsing methods etc. before making the necessary changes to increase their advertising revenues.