A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The most important part for school education is a well-defined curricula. There are several different considerations to be taken into account when it comes to creating a curriculum for school students, The argument states that a unifrom curriculum is necessary for all students in a nation and there are quite a number of advantageous over disadvantageous by having a common curriculum.

A uniform curriculum would ensure that all students from different parts of the country will have access to the same quality of education. This will ensure a level playing field. For example, if a nation were to have separate curricula, then students who come from richer families would have access to some of the best private schools in the country, while a student from a poorer background would only be able to attend a public school. Private schools, in general, would have a much better quality of education standards, simply because they have more money and resources to invest in devising superior curriculum. This would allow privileged students an unfair advantage over others, aiding them in securing admissions in better colleges, ultimately hindering the chances of any under-privileged student to ever hope to get a decent college education.

Another reason , why it should be advantageous to have a uniform curriculum, is that all students who enter into college, would more or less be armed with the same amount of knowledge, allowing them to seamlessly transition into college level of education. This would prevent any student being left behind. Professors would be able to gauge the level of competence easily, thereby allowing them to create syllabi which would easily cater to all the students.For example, if a student enters into a good college, but is from a school with a not so competitive curricula, he/she will not be able to keep up with the rest of the students in the class. This may even affect his/her morale and hinder their progress with respect to other students taking the same class.

However, there may be a few scenarios where it might not be the best decision to have a completely uniform curriculum. While, subjects like Science and Mathematics can be made uniform, region specific subjects like history or geography can be to a certain extent different as it will allow students to undertsand the places where they are being brought up in great detail.

In conclusion, it is certainly much better to have a uniform curriculum,however some amount of leeway can be considered when it comes to a few region specific subjects, allowing students to a have a holistic education understanding and experience