The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following argument states that, a television station reduced the time on weather and local news to be replaced by national news at the late-night news program. During this time period the viewer complaints were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. Also the advertisements played during this time have been reduced, as their contracts have been canceled. So the manager of the television station has called for restoring the previous amount of time reserved for local news and weather coverage. Though this might seem accurate at first glance, there are many points that should be answered before making any changes to the streaming of news at the station.

Firstly, the manager makes a statement regarding the complaints received, which were mainly regarding the station's coverage of weather and local news. Although, the exact nature of these complaints has not been disclosed. The author gives a hint that the content of the complaints is to increase time of the local news and weather coverage. But, it can very well be the exact opposite, and the viewers are pushing for reducing the time for this coverage further. The support for this might be that the time of the show airing is late in night, which might make the weather news stale. Rather than covering weather on the previous night, it can be covered in the morning on the next day.

The next point which the manager makes is regarding the advertising companies which are cancelling their contracts due to the same reason. However, there might be umpteen other reasons which are prompting the advertising companies to do so. They could be cancelling due to budgeting cuts due to excessive expenditure. They might have some issues with the television station staff which might have not reached the manager. So the cancellation of the contracts certainly cannot be linked with the argument necessarily.

Finally, the manager gives the counter reasoning which states that in order to attract more viewers, avoid losing more advertising revenues the station should restore the former time given to local news and weather. However, the manager here ignores all the other factors which might not necessarily increase the viewership of the late night program. One factor is the demographics of the region in which the program is being aired. The viewers in the area can consist of more youth who are not inclined to watch news as frequently as the older generation. Also the people in that area might be old which might mean they go to bed early, well before the time of the show. Also the advertising revenue is dependent upon the number of viewers tuning into the show and won't increase if the above factors come into play.

Thus, all in all the manager hasn't considered everything that might lead to the success of the late night show. The manager should answer all the above points carefully and jump to any hasty actions, which might end up hurting the revenue more than alleviating it.