Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The future of any society lies on the shoulders of its young people and can sway to any side good or bad according to how we shape their minds. There are two ways we can go about this task, either we can instill in them a sense of cooperation or else a path of competition. I partially agree with this claim for below three reasons.

Firstly, if we put the young people to compete against one another then we are just pushing them into a rat race. A famous example to highlight this is the crab theory, in which when you put some crabs in a bucket, all these crabs try to get to the top of the bucket to escape. Due to the height of the bucket they try to get on top of each other to gain altitude, but some of the other crabs trying to get out themselves pull these crabs down with them. Similarly, when you put up high placed people to tackle with others they might surely try to get to the top and others surely will try to get them down in turn toppling the organization which they are trying to uphold. The case can be reversed and these main people might not let anyone get past them and try to become an obstacle for themselves succeeding.

Further, by making the youth compete with one another we are imbibing in them the weight of being at the top. For example in many households parents try to force upon their children the pressure of competing against hundreds of other students and be a topper amongst them. This makes the kids feel unnecessary stress in the end making them low performers. Same is the case with young people who have been posititoned at leadership seats in governments, industries or other fields. Rather than letting others help them achieve they might totally shun outside help thinking of it as an attempt to topple them and end up hurting themselves.

However, no competition at all and an institution might be facing a stagnation or even a downfall. For example, an IT company in the market might be facing many competitors in the same product line. But due to no sense of competition may be relaxed, engrossed in their own world working at their own pace. This will certainly make their products outdated and make them incur heavy losses at the cost of trying to cooperate with a ruthless market. Thus, a total absence of competition might lead to extreme laziness which might be detrimental to the companies well being.

Hence, to conclude we can safely say that a sense of cooperation among the youth at leadership positions is of utmost importance for the growth of a company as a whole. But, totally ignoring competition might also be hazardous for the organization eventually collapsing it.