The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company, he states that the lesser number of people attending the movie theaters is the direct cause for the movies lower number of crowd going to the movies and not the quality of the movie. The director has given a plausible yet incomplete explanation as to the lower footfall at the theaters. He can answer three of the below stated questions to make an even stronger point.

The first thing the director mentions is a recent report, that states lesser people attended Super Screen produced movies. The support for the report is not present like the timespan in which it was based on or the number of theaters that were included into this report. Maybe only some poor neighborhood might have been considered, which reduces the likelihood of it's residents actually viewing the movie. Or the theaters considered for this might be far outside city limits due to which less people might have viewed this film. The director should use more data to drive his point across.

The second major factor is that the genre of movies that were produced by Super Screen productions might not have appealed to the general public. Maybe the movies that were produced by them were romantics or classics which might not appeal to the young populace of a particular city where they might have released. Some other production might have released some action or horror movies which garnered more attention. The type of movies plays a very important role in determining the success a movie might achieve. The director should take this into consideration before making any appeal.

Lastly, the quality of movie should not be objectified on the basis of some limited number of positive reviews. These movie reviewers could very well be amateurs rather than critiques of films who might judge movies based on their appeal to the mass public rather than on their personal criteria. These reviews might be the most useful while determining the worth of the movies. The direct should therefore make certain arrangements for checking quality such as a special screening for multiple renowned critics and improve upon their suggestions, rather than assuming the quality of movies to be superior based on some positive reviews.

To conclude, before making any hard decisions that involve making changes in the budget without any meticulous study might end up harming the production house more than now. Instead more budget can be allocated to produce quicker and more number of high level films, that of course have been made keeping the variation in ages and other such factors in mind of the people that are going to view these movies. There shouldn't also be total neglect of the advertising but it should be smarter trying to target as much wide of an audience it can target.