In the Carlton County the incidences of vandalism has been increasing over the past two years and at the same time there has also been dramatic increase in out-of-state migrants. So we should ban all the immigrants moving in the city in order to stop vandalism.

The argument by a citizen to the editor states that there has been a steady rise in incedents related to vandalism in Carlton County. The citizen has also noted the steady increase of out-of-state migrants moving to the county over the past few years. The citizen links these two together and advices the government to reduce the number of such migrants coming to the city to prevent further incedents of vandalism in the county. Though the argument made by this person might seem correct at first glance, it cannot hold true due to it being rife with loopholes that have not been properly explained.

The large time period of two years mentioned for the rise of vandallism makes the argument less compelling. The exact time at which such things happen like daytime, evening or night might help to think of preventive measures to employ against the hooligans. The actual number of cases also has not been mentioned, which might be very crucial in verifying the actual magnitude in which the destruction of the public property can be understood.

The actual status of these migrants has not been given like are they from rich or poor background, their educational qualification also their overall behaviour. These factors prove to be very important to determine wheter a particular person might commit such crime. Also the fact that the survey which might have been conducted to find out the number of settled migrants can have neglected the fact that the people who have settled here might be citizens of the same county which might have stayed away and have recently come back. The census has not been clearly stated and could well be a big wild guess.

It has been given that many citizens believe that the rise in migrants sttling in the county has led to the increase in the vandalism. The exact number of citizens which believe so has not been given. Also how the citizen reporting to this got to the conclusion like through some survey he or she might have conducted is also not given. Also the vandalisms might have been conducted by the very citizens of the county who wanted to undermine these out-of-state people.

Thus, the reduction of the migrants might not necessarily guarantee the prevention of further cases of vandalism and damage to public property. If the government would reduce the number of migrants this could seriously topple the economy as the jobs would be left vacant. Thus the citizen needs to provide more details, untill which the goverment cannot take serious action against the migrants. So the citizen needs to provide specific statistics in the form of actual numbers to make their opinion heard.