A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Education is a must for all the students of a nation. It shapes up the future of the pupils in the sense that it will make them stand on their own feet and not be dependent on any other person. Education should be thus considered as a passion, rather than just something to be done to get qualified. This ensures that it stays everlasting. I disagree with the argument that a standard course should be imposed on every student till he or she enters college.

Each student has his own strengths and weaknesses. Though the weakness can be improved upon it won't be as effective as the student learning something he is really good at and enjoys studying. Everyone has different interests and it is quite difficult to impart knowledge which is disinteresting. Focus of the students will be more on the scoring of marks rather than learning something. This type of knowledge won't stay in the mind for longer. If they could learn something of their interest they might be able to retain it and actually use it in their daily lives.

If the same curriculum is followed throughout the amount of competition will be more. The pressure will mount on the students to be at the top for higher opportunities. Students will get stressed unnecessarily that might lead to them taking unnecessary steps. Thus the learning which should have been fun will remain only a rat race for the students to enter into and try to win without any enjoyment.

This approach of a strict single course will be deadly when the student enters a college, he will be exposed to a wide arry of subjects which he might not be exposed to till then. This might create confusion and make it hard for the student to cope with. This would end up with the students stuck in mediocre or totally worthless jobs which won't tap into the persons true potential.

Thus having a stream based curriculum after school might help the students to gain better job opportunities in the areas of their expertise.