"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Today's youth are society's indisposable treasures. They bring in new ideas and technology in the area that they are present in, be it the government, industry or any different fields. Their approach in many things though unorthodox in many cases can prove fruitful as they well understand the minds of their generation. Thus, it is important how they are brought up and if they are moved to positions of greater authority, then how they are set up. There are mainly two approaches to this either have them work together or make them compete against each other.

Collaboration is an essential component of any society, be it as big as the government or as small as a small scale industry. Each fundamental part though serving a very small role is essential to the organization when combined with other such smaller factors. The youngsters setup in the higher authority positions with the feeling of collaboration might help in taking the authorization to new heights. They will constantly try to find areas where they can contribute and try to help wherever needed.

Rivalry is basically getting to each other's throats and competing wherever possible. Rivalry with other competitors outside an organization is good, but within it can corrupt and can crumble anything easily. Internal rivalry over who gets praise or the seat of authority can cause jealousy and ill intent towards one another. Though not visible directly it might be the cause of constant turmoil within an organization. In a way this might help the competitors, if any talented people leave due to the internal chaos they might get appropriated by the competitors and might prove dangerous to the well being of the organization.

A sense of strong collaboration coupled with no rivalry might make the youngster set on this path an ideal person to be followed. He will have some tools that others won't, on the lines of listening patiently, picking up the best out of any conversations, not trying to belittle others and most importantly the sense of commitment towards the organization.