All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

The issue here suggests that a company instead of hiring outside consultants should listen to their own employees and not take the consultancy of outsiders. I strongly feel that this statement is the perfect way for a company to prosper in terms of market value and rise above the other competition.

Firstly, the consultancy firms are multi-national companies which help to set up their clients in the market well above their competitors. But, these companies take huge lumpsums of money from their clients and milk them out of their cash whereas, they could have used it some place else which might have proved to be more fruitful. Instead, the companies can invest this money on internal training to better cope up in the technological scene. They can train some people in hotskills that are booming currently, even they can train people to be consultants which might lower their external expenditure.

Secondly, the most important factor which a company has is time. Time is of the pure essence and should be used in the most well planned way. The companies which hire external consultants need a lot of time for their consultants to set up in the working environment they already have. Because, the infrastructure setup will help them to gain an upper edge in the market.

Lastly, the one indisposable component of the company is it's workforce. May it be a senior with atleast 10 years of experience, or a fresher who has been working there for one or two years these are the people that the company should actually be taking advice from. Because, being in the market and working for the firm has made them better understand the current situation of the company. Also, they know the ins and outs of the organization making them the perfect assessors in times of turmoil the company is facing, by pin-pointing to the exact weak links and the unnecessary resource consumption.

Though a counterpoint would be that these external consultancy firms have been specializing on these skill, implementing their client's strengths and weaknesses to help them turn a tide. But all in all the companies would certainly gain much more by listening to their own employees who have been in the company and know how that particular company works more than any outsider.