The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The business manager of the television station claims that because of the increased time to national news and devoted less time to weather and local news , it snowballed the televison station. The manager also states that if he roll back to the same time as it was one year before the televison station watch time will be rise. This memorandum from the business manager did not account a many other ascpects that may played a significan role for the plamped of the television station.

To start with, the viewers complaind about weather and local news. The late-night weather program may was not accurate at all or there were a plethora of fake news and the viewers complaind about it. We need a better inside of the complaints to shape a better view.

Another possible explanation is that a different television station has fire up this year with better late-night news, with better couverage, better accouracy to weather forecast and the viewers have changed frequency.

Now, about the local business who canceled their advertising contracts we can assume that the prices were too high and because of the station drop percentage the change contract to other station. Again we do not have clear evidence.

There is lack of information from this memorandum, no statistics at all. To better evaluate the argument we need information about, how many television stations are in the nation, what percent each station has each month, what is the prices of each advertise in the late-night times, are the late-night new program trustworthy?

To sum up, the business manager of the television station fails to count a plethora of problems and he rushed to make a desision that restoring the late-night news time back to it's original will bring back the percentages.