Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

Being able to comunnicate is a powerful ability as we can solve a lot of our problems with discussion. Now, discussing controversial topics with people having opossite view can some times not end well but for me this can be helpful as you can learn what others are thinking and compere it with your opinion. There is a specific topic, core beliefs, that is somewhat difficult to convice people to change their mind. Trying to do so this will break into fights, so not usful at all.

To start with, there are some topics with your friend that you do not talk about because you have different opinion. Let's take an example of football teams. Your friend is passionate with team X. He goes in every football match, because was raised like that. No matter how many times I will try to convice him to change team, he will not and some times the conversation will break into fight.

Moreover, think of more extreme controversial topics like politics or religion. We watch on television everyday the politics discussing nonstop with out finding a common ground. No-one change opinion.

On the other hand, talking about a regular day of a Software Developer there is a plethora of discussions with contratictiong viewpoints. The leader of the team need to convice the team which is correct or not usefull with evidence. Thus, discussing will sove the problem and the team will continue to finish the project.

To sum up, trying to change the core beliefs of a person is sometimes impposible. That's how the grew up and this is what it make it impossible.