Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument is based on assamptions only and there is not any proof in the argument to support that Paleo diets can cure chronic illnesses.

To start with, human ancestors were living centuries ago! Different way of leaving. We can be sure that they didn't have the luxariy of today just by going to a supermarket to get food and that's all. They have to hunt in difficult cercumnstances and there was not an alternative way. Thus, cooking animal bones may be a way of survival.

Moreover, the argument assume that if we emulate the way they ate we can cure many chronic illnesses. What if by eating bone broth or a soup made by animal bones is the reason behind some illnesses we have today? For example, the most resent one, COVID-19. It's been said that the virus outbreak origins by cooking a bat.

Furtheremore, the argument state that is a anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. There is no proof on that or any statistical number or any experiment at least to show this is true. Maybe this is true but by making assumtions does not mean we are correct.

To conclude, just by a statment that says Paleo diets will be more beneficial than what we eat today does not mean that it will cure many chronic illnesses.