Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In these days we are currently living leaders in many companies play a major role and finding a good one is difficult due to many responsibilites and the requirement of a huge list of abilities. In my opinion a leader must have the ability to maintain the respect of his/her peers.

To start with, when there is respect in the workplace leads to better collaboration.

For example, if your leader helds a weekly meeting with the team discussing what had been done, and a peer has a problem then a discussion will open and a solution will be found quicker and easier because everyone will listening the opinion of other. So the leader has to coordinate the peers to allow answering and questioning with respect to each other.

Ferthermore, if there is equal respect in the workplace non of the peer should feel disadvangerous and this results the team to become "as a punch". This feeling of respect is carried home and knowing that everyone is treaded equaly it does makes you feel better. Imagine you are working in an office and you do not exchange a word with your peers the whole day. You would probably had left or feel that you do not belong to the team. Here is the role of the leader to prevent that and make every peer confortable to the workplace.

On the other hand, a mandadory ability of a leader is having a sound moral judgment. The reason of having this ability will become very helpful in critical situations where there is a dilima in the team. For example, if the "A" feature sould be implemented or not. The leader with his/her expiriance should thake the right choice and there will no responsibilities to the team.

To sum up, being a leader is not an easy task as he/she has a plethora of responsiblities and a major ability is to maintain the respect of hi or her peers.