The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the co

Due to the plummeting of advertising revenues and viewers, the author provides a cursory suggestion about time allotemant recession for late-night news programs. His idea is based upon some incomplete statistical data which still needs some improvements.

First of all, viewers were complaining about weather and local news reports. For improving weather reports, the tv-station should invest more time in collecting weather data from authorative sources. Only increasing the allotement time for weather news presentation for false or impractical data, would not satisfy the viewers.

In addition to ensuring the authenticity of the news, the business manager should also analyse the perfect time management for distinctive local news. The arguement does not provide enough information about its former allotted time level. The time management should be decided with scrutiny for better impact on the viewer as well as for the advertisers.

Again, increasing time in local and weather news also means to reduce time for national news. Therefore, it can be the case that companies running their business nationwide may back off from their advertising contracts. This will results huge revenue loss which will be far worse than some small advertising contracts reduction.

In conclusion, only restoring to the previous allotted time for weather and local news presentation is not sufficient to increase advertisement reveneus and viewers. The tv-station should also consider the authenticity of its news source for both local and weather news. It also come up with punctilious plan for its time management, not just following blindly it conventional system.