Before an important exam, do you think it is better to prepare for a long time or only for a few days? Give examples and reasons to support your argument.

Preparing for an important exam is crucial for every student. It is also not different for me and I thrived to get good grades for these exams. Therefore I prefer to prepare for a long time because it enables me planning, tracking progress, and revising for the exam.

First reason is that, I have enough time to plan for the exam. Before my last computer fundamental exam, I started planning for it about 3 months earlier. I divided my upcoming 12 weeks before the exam for each of the 12 topics. I planned to focus only one topic in each week and tried to grasp everything on that topic. It helped me to have a better preparation for the exam.

Consequently, I can track my progress. In each consequent weeks after my planning, I can look back and see my understanding of the topics. For my computer fundamental exam, in each weekend, I was able to know what topics I have already covered and what were pending. It enabled to complete all the topics with a good understanding before my exam day.

Lastly, I have enough opportunity for revision. I tend to forget a lot what I have learnt before. By revising topics helps me to make it permanent in my memory. Also it helps to track back my mistakes, if any. Prior to 1 week of my last computer fundamental exam, I discovered that I left of the peripheral chapter which was included on the exam syllabus. I didn't planned for it before. While revising, I came to know for the mistake and read out the whole chapter on following days.

For these aforementioned reasons, to achieve good grades in an important exam, a long-term preparation is definitely my choice. Every student should also do so by making a good plan, tracing his progress, and revisiting his topics prior to the exam.