The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our latenight

news program has devoted increased time to national

news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints

received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local

news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our latenight

news

program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract

more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues,

we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument.

Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications

are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The claim by business manager of a television station states that, the coverage should be expanded for weather and local news on all news programs. This claim is considered in order to avoid complaints received by viewers and losing the revenue through advertizing, as late night devoted time to national news was increased. The claim considers one year duration since the changes are made.

The factors affecting due to change are cancelled contracts from local businesses advertizing and thus reduced revenue. However, the amount of revenue from local business advertisements during latenight programs needs to be

quantified in order to look after losses.

The complaints by viewers need to be sorted in order to know what proportion of complaints are coming from the latenight viewers, there is no stastical data provided on the type of the complaints, thus this claim has to be supported with the substantial data. Moreover the suggestion claiming all news programs should cover weather and local news is ill, as there might be a very small group of viewers those watch these program. Thus the survey about the viewers choosing to watch what type of program has to be done in order to consider how many programs should be dedicated for the mentioned interests. Otherwise the coverage on many pragrams will lead to loose the remaining set of viewers who opt to watch some other programs.

finally increasing the coverage for weather and local news might not increase the vievers as mentioned, it might just help to maintain the old viewers. In order to attract more viewers the type of programs covered might need to be changed, this can be decided on the basis of the survey considering the viewers from the all age groups and the time they prefer to watch.

Thus in order to come to conclusion, a proper dataset is required to support the claim by the manager.

The dataset can include information about proportion of viewers who wish to watch the local and weather news, part of revenue coming from the mentioned programs in order to account for the losses. Also the track on the numbers of viewers has to be kept as the data provided considers

the change since last one year, the given data can vary with time.