Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to

benefit the greatest number of people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation

Science is the basis of development. The modern era has been developed with various inventions and discoveries made in past. Many of them being accidental but on greater good they are proved to be helpful for mankind. But each and every thing has two sides being good and bad. Good aspects are what we have to seek to achieve constructive profits.

Looking at the current scenario, many of the research has proved to be good and bad in various aspects. There is a famous quote need gives birth to invention which has to be understood well. in the modern age we are utilizing the luxuries which are the results of inventions made in the past, here question to be answered is are we utilizing them as our per our needs? If you look around you will get the answer and which will assert you that we are misusing them! How can this be true? Consider the example of automobiles, the vehicle which can be used to commute for minimum of four people, is not getting used to full of its capacity. Many people around you have stopped using bicycles because they have other vehicles. Here one has to understand the need and act accordingly.

Due to such misuse, we are facing any issues such as global warming, we humans have become threat to other living species as we are polluting our air, water, cutting down forests for the development which are the natural habitats of other living species. If we mankind can not be considerate for other species then we are the danger for existence of other species and to ourselves as well. Manier times you would have come across the news of oil spillage over the rivers or sea surfaces due to leakage in the ships, the glaciers in the sea are melting at higher speed, etc. Such problems needs greater attention considering the near future and its impact on ecosystem.

Considering all this, science and research should focus on the problems created due to misuse of it and we need to find the solution to fix them right. If we fail to do so then it will be difficult to survive, as you will not get clean air to breath, limited food sources as we are utilizing the agricultural land for industrialization, no clean water to drink as we have polluted most of our water reserviors with polluted water. All these aspects are linked to the greatest good of greatest number of people.