Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

I agree with the given statement that television advertising directed towards the young children at the age of (two to five) should not be allowed. There are various reasons to have this opinion.

To start with, young age is very crucial age in development of the child. Every parents are more focused on their children at this specific age of growth and development. Parents try their best to inculcate morals and values; try to make understand their child about what is wrong and right. Thus it is important that whatever their child is learning get screened before it reaches to their child. Child at this age can be demanding thus, parents have to listen to them as they are very young and naive. But one cannot allow themselves to provide their child whatever they wish.

Secondly, if you talk about television, one cannot have control on what is being displayed on it. Television do not screen the content as per the age group. However, when you have to talk about the specific advertisement which are directed towards the young children, the content presented in them is capable of attracting the children towards it. In such situations there is every possibility that child would ask their parents to get them whatever they feel fascinating. Also child cannot discriminate between what is wrong and what is right thus, they can fall prey to wrong products and end up asking about it.

Let us consider few examples. There are numerous products such as chocolates which provide complementary toys with them to attract children. The complementary toys being given may not be specifically harmful to the child but the processed food at this young age is not recommended. Another example can be health drinks; there are varied health drinks available in the market and the companies try to attract children with various tricks, which can be chocolate flavored drinks, etc. Even though the taste of such drinks might be appealing but the nutrient contents must be checked before allowing your child to have them. Such cases are the ones where child fall prey for wrong things and can be demanding for it which might affect their health and well being.

Thus overall looking at the situation, it is important for your children to have understanding of what is good and bad. But discriminating between this at such young age cannot be expected from the children. Thus I believe that the television advertising directed towards young children should not be allowed.