agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they

suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which

teachers closely monitored students. Under that system, teachers reported an average of

thirty cases of cheating per year. The honor code has proven far more successful: in the

first year it was in place, students reported twentyone cases of cheating; five years later,

this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton

students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than

without. Such evidence suggests that all colleges and universities should adopt honor

codes similar to Groveton's. This change is sure to result in a dramatic decline in cheating

among college students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to

decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how

the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The paragraph suggest that an honor code adopted by Groveton college is more efficient to minimize the instances of cheating among students as compared to a system where teachers will monitor students closely.

To begin with honor code makes students monitor others if they are cheating, in this case trust issues may arise with this approach. Students may not reveal the truth as there are more chances of supporting each other than revealing others truth. Contrary, teachers having close monitoring on students may reveal the real picture.

There can be many questions to be asked, firstly what is the approach that is considered to compare two methods? The approach considered here seems divergent: the honor code data is presented in terms of numbers whereas a system implemented the teachers monitoring is giving data in statistical terms i.e. average.

Secondly, what is the number of students that is being considered for this comparison? The interpretation of the data will change based on the population size thus the details are necessary to conclude the data.

Thirdly, the opinion both students and teachers has been considered by Groveton college? Both the parties will have different opinion based on their observations thus, considering opinions of both is important.

Lastly, are the students reporting all the instances of cheating? or the instances reported are true? If not there should be some monitoring to make sure that all the cases are reported by the students and are true.

If the questions asked above support an honor code then recommendation should be considered by other colleges. Otherwise other effective ways can be adopted in order to minimize the instances of cheating by the students.