Educators should base their assessment of students' learning not on students' grasp of

facts but on the ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that those facts illustrate.

Learning is the most important part of students life. It helps students to empower themselves in various aspects. Learning is evaluated in various ways in different systems. However, student who has learnt the fact should be able to implement or use it. If the student is able to implement the fact or not can be evaluated by checking his or her ability to explain to others, determine the actual importance and implication of the facts and understanding the importance of concepts. Thus I believe, it is important to know the fact but just grasping it will not help to empower themselves.

Grasping the fact helps students to know it. But its utilization in real world problems is the actual challenge.

Implementing the factual data to solve real world problems should be the goal of any educators. If you study the fact well then you can understand that it is not just a statement. But there are many things associated with it. Thus just grasping the fact will not help student to use it, but they have to unleash ideas, trends and concepts behind it. One can know that the fact is learnt well when he or she is able to make others understand it and being able to answer the questions behind it.

Today's students are the ones who will be scientists, teachers, leaders, industrialists, artists, etc. in the coming future. All these roles needs to have various qualities in such people. For example a leader should be able to convience his or her followers for any thought. To make this happen they need to have deep understanding of that subject and the factual data about it. Thus once they grasp the fact, in depth study of the subject is impotrtant in order to have through knowledge of it. This knowledge makes one confident about it and they can be in better position to make others understand it well. Consider the example of Mahatma Gandhi. He knew the fact that the problems can be solves silently rather that taking the voilent

actions. But he had to explain this fact to the people around which helped him to connect people. Because of which he could successfully lead the satyagrah against British rulers. He was successful in implementing various changes such as use of Khadi, leading Dandi Yatra for the rights of the people.

Thus if educators wants to make students learn the facts for lifetime and being able to utilize them for real life problems then evaluating them on grasping skills is not enough. Students should be given real life problems against them and their response to these problems should be assessed. This can be done by checking theri ability to explain idea, trends and concepts associated with the fact.