In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit

from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of

accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers

are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of

road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane

widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections.

Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25

percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years

ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument

and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The given argument talks about improving the highway safety of Prunty county. Here they have assumed that Prunty county should follow the footprints of Butler county for improving the highway safety as they have done five years ago.

First of all, direct comparison of two counties may not be valid, as the geographical nature, total area, population/ number of vehicles, the distinction between group of people who drive in these two specific counties may not be same. The survey needs to be done to gather data considering these points.

The conclusion made with decreased speed limit from 55 to 45 in all over the county since last year with the statement that this effort has failed. The statistical data has to be provided to agree to this conclusion of failure. The change has to be observed for more duration considering different factors such as weather conditions, visibility, etc.

Secondly, the suggestion of following Butler county in terms of improving highways does not provide any understanding of the difference between roads and other aspects to provide highway safety of these two counties. Moreover this improvement done by Butler county is before five years, which can not be compared with the current scenario.

The comparison of the road accidents of Butler county which decreased by 25% than last five years can not be correlated with the Prunty county. The comparison should be made with respect to road accidents during that particular year between two countys. The data provided here does not hold any value in order to agree with the suggestion to follow the footprints of Butler county.

Thus a proper statistical data with survey has to be provided in order to support the change and its implication.