Learning ideas and concepts is important than knowing the facts.

I agree with the statement that students should learn ideas and concepts than to learn the facts. Facts are important to know, but implementing knowledge gained from them is critical to shape the student.

Today's students are the one who are going to lead the future. You face real life problems when you grow up and have to support yourself. In such situations interpretation and implementation of the known facts is very important. It helps to take appropriate decisions against any given situation. Just knowing the fact but do not knowing its usefulness will not be having any importance. Let us consider an example, you know the fact when water freezes it expands. Now the concept of expansion holds importance in real life scenario. If you are given to design an equipment to store the given amount of water in extreme cold conditions. Here it will be helpful for you to implement the concept of expansion. Thus, design the equipment will be done considering the increased surface area and save equipment from any damage.

Secondly, the facts can be passed on to other people by anyone who knows it. But the ideas and concepts helps to explain that fact appropriately. Given a situation where the students are supposed to explain the fact, it is important for them to understand concept behind it. Without knowing the concept it will be difficult to explain it to others. Having known this one has to improve their concepts and be ready for the situations where it can be used.

However, there can be some facts that are just supposed to be known. Such as earth revolves around the sun. This in turn do not need to have any kind of implementation in real life, but it is important to know the facts about the place you are living in.

Thus, looking holistically at the statement, Ideas and concepts might evolve from the facts, but just knowing the fact will not help you utilize it. To solve the real life problems knowing the concept and idea behind it very important.