'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The claims made by the manager state that reducing the time given for local and weather new has had some negative effects. The channel has lost some advertising contracts that impacted it's revenues. The channel is contemplating on increasing the time devoted to local and weather news to get back the contracts and increase the number of viewers. There are some factors that need to be evaluated before we can conclude that adopting the new policy would indeed be beneficial.

The manager mentions that most of the complaints received were related to coverage of local and weather news. There no information given with respect to the types of complaints, the number of complaints that have been received. It cannot be assumed that complaints are pertaining only to the reduced coverage. The complaints might be regarding some other aspects like - the quality and accuracy of news, concerns with the tone of the news narrator, etc. There might be a myriad of reasons for these complaints.

There is another assumption that the advertising contracts have reduced due to cut down on the local news coverage. The contracts may have been terminated because the advertising agencies have found different and better ways of advertisement apart from television advertisement. They might have signed a contract with another channel which costs them less money for the same amount of advertising. Thus there might be multiple reasons for the same. If the reason for the contracts being taken back is anything other than reduced coverage, it definitely does not make sense to assume that increasing coverage again would bring back the contracts.

The claim states that increasing local new coverage would see a corresponding increase in the number of viewers, while it might be true, the channel stills needs to consider the type of complaints that have come in earlier. They should try to understand and address these complaints. If they condone the impact that these complaints might have, they are at risk of not getting an increase in number of viewers. For example - If majority of the complaints are regarding the quality of news and the channel does not improve upon this factor . If they just increase the coverage, it would not see an increase in viewers because they were concerned about the quality of news and not coverage.

Thus, there a lot of factors that need evaluation before adopting the new policy. The factors discussed if studied properly and then acted upon will surely be efficacious in channel's aim of increasing the number of viewers and the advertisement revenues.