Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

The world is ever evolving, with new discoveries being made, new technologies being invented. The world today is indisputably advanced when compared to the past. New technologies mean new fields to study in, new job opportunities and a new line of work. Students graduating from college have a plethora of careers to choose. Many choose to pursue a career in a fields which is completely different from their current graduation study as well. Thus, nowadays the career opportunities are not restricted by the field of study you had chosen, but instead depends on what you actually want to do. The internet ahs played a major role in making people more cognizant about the various fields and opportunities available. This helps people analyze different fields and choose something which resonates with their passion and skillset. It is because of these available platforms that youth in the country are given more freedom and exhorted to follow their dreams.

Some claim that although youth should be allowed to pursue their dreams they must be careful to pick up worthy goals. Many people pick goals which suit them best but do not think of the outside world, what impact will it have on external factors. I do not completely agree with this view for some reason. The dreams or goals that a person has are always aligned with his/her interests or I would rather say that the goals must be aligned with their interests. The reason being that we excel at something only if we are passionate about what we do, we want to get better at it, if we put genuine efforts and not perfunctorily drag it ahead. So the goals a person has will definitely reflect his inner desires, what he wants to become, so on and so forth.

There are various surrounding ecosystem factors that affects the way a person thinks. Their thoughts, their actions are shaped by what they have experienced. For example - The son of a poor laborer who has seen poverty through his childhood, will probably take up a job which pays him well when he grows up. He thinks little of what this job is, what is the outcome of it will be. His aim would be not to be poor again. The way a person has been raised, the things he has experienced dictate the way he behaves in life ahead. So while his goals/dreams might be cynical, there is a hidden reason to why it is so. It is not as simple as that he picks up a goal because he is self-fish because if it is so we must understand what makes him think so in the first place.

There are many people who re serving in the social sector nowadays, there are many organizations helping the poor and the needy. There are so many volunteers who turn up and help people because they want to make the world a better place. Many people who work for these causes do so without expecting anything in return they are purely motivated by their desire to help people. Thus, their dreams are not motivated by some personal self-fish reason but its otherwise. People who are not part of such organizations also play a vital rile by donating money or participating in campaigns voluntarily. Thus, a person should definitely choose his/her goal/dream according to what suits them, what matches their skills and passion but at the same time make sure that they take out time and dedicatedly do something that gives the society back.