Claim: An action is morally correct if the amount of good that results from the action is greater than the amount of bad that results from the action.

Reason: When assessing the morality of an action, the results of the action are more important than the intent of the person or people performing the action.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

A society is built on moral values and disciplines and it is morality that helps the society burgeon. It helps establish a code of conduct that everyone must abide by. Without morality or propriety there would be chaos with every person free to think and act based on what they want or what they think is correct. Moral standards ensure that there is a code we live by and the goals and living of all members of society are aligned. There has been a lot of discussion around the basis of judging moral actions. Some say that the morality of an action should be judged by the results of that action. If the good results are more than the bad results than we can surely label that action as moral.

Every action undertaken has good and bad results. The fact that an action produces more good results than bad means it is more efficacious and hence should be termed as moral. Proponents of such a view also claim that the intentions behind the action are not as important as the results it produces. I do not agree with such a view. Although, it is true that considering the results of an action does give us a tangible entity to judge the action, it should not be the only factor in determining morality. A moral action must produce good results, that should always be the aim, but the failure to achieve it should not be the only deciding factor about its morality. Sometimes actions produce intended results and sometimes they don't. It is sometimes a matter of chance, a matter of different circumstances that might have never been faced before.

The intention with which an action is carried out is a cardinal factor when determining morality. The intent with which an action is carried out, the guiding principles behind an action, the aim it has also play a vital role. If we discard intent as an entity and judge an action based only on the results, it gives people the flexibility to act out of will, to do whatever they want. This might not be beneficial in the long run.

For example - There are two companies C and D who are facing a financial crisis. The CEO of company C decides to launch a new scheme that will help the company secure new funds that will help the company pay off its debts. The decision is well within legal terms but for some reason the company was not able to get the funds and the situation gets exacerbated. The CEO of company D aims to resolve the crisis by getting the company involved in illegal activities, money laundering, etc. At the end manages to pull the company out of crisis. In this case we can not say that the action undertaken by company D was moral just because it was able to produce intended results. Although, company C is still facing crisis the action taken by it was moral because it did not violate principles just to get the work done.

Thus, the intent with which an action is undertaken definitely should be accounted for while judging the morality of an action. The results the action produces should be considered but it should be given minimal weightage because morality is a value that is absolute, it is not flexible in it's definition. The results of an action should have some or least significance in deciding its morality.