The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to investors:

“Techcorporation is our top pick for investment this term. We urge all of our clients to invest in this new company. For the first time in ten years, a company that has developed satellite technology has been approved by the FTA to compete with the current satellite provider. That company is Techcorporation. A consumer survey last year indicated that over eighty percent of respondents were dissatisfied with the current satellite television provider and would want to switch to another provider if the industry were not a monopoly. Thus, the new venture of Techcorporation into satellite television will prove to be highly profitable for those who invest now.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

The argument urges investors to start investing in the new venture of Techcorporation, a venture that provides satellite television services. The argument tries to support itself by giving examples of customer dissatisfaction with the current television provider from a survey and claims that this new venture would be a huge success. However there are some flaws in the the argument which weaken it.

Firstly, the argument says that for the first time in ten years a company has developed satellite technology that has been approved by the FTA. The fact that no other company has been operational in this sector means that it has complexions and difficult operating conditions. This might act as a potential hindrance to the growth of the new venture as they do not have prior experience in this sector. Although, getting the technology approved by the regulator is an important factor, it is also important to track how well the company actually operates. Getting a green flag and operating efficiently are two disparate things, the investors should study both these details to make a decision.

The argument talks about a survey that is conducted and reveals that eighty percent of the respondents are unhappy with the current provider services. There is little information given with respect to the survey. How many people were interviewed, what questions were asked, what are the complaints, are some questions whose answers are important to attach accurate credibility to the conclusions made by the survey. In absence of answers to these questions we cannot really decide how true or applicable this information is. Even if the results and predictions of survey are assumed to be accurate we do not have any evidence that the new provider technology has all the new features that the customers in the survey are expecting. Thus, even if customers are dissatisfied we cannot say that they will switch to the new provider if the provider does not have the features they mentioned in the survey.

Furthermore, the technology has been approved by the FTA, but this does not mean that it has all the elements or features that the current provider gives. The current provider might be giving a lot of options apart from the ones that the guidelines mention. If this were true then it weakens the argument because the people will not switch to this new provider as the current one gives them more options and services. We are not given any information regarding the service charges. How much more will the customers pay if they were to switch to the new provider?. If the difference is exorbitantly high the customers will not choose to switch.

Thus, there are many factors such as the services provided, the features provided, the cost incurred to the customer and the actual working performance that directly affect the success of the company. The investors should do a rigorous analysis of these factors and only then make an investment decision.