A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

The argument states that four million pounds of pet food was recalled in response to the complaints received that pets were experiencing symptoms.

The food sample analysis proved that the chemicals used in these foods were approved for use in pet food. Based on the results of this analysis the pet food company concludes that the recalled food was not responsible for the symptoms. The argument has a made several assumptions while arriving at the conclusion which belittles it.

Firstly, the company assumes that if the chemicals used in the pet food are the ones' which are approved for use then they can not be the reason for the symptoms. It assumes that being approved gives a guarantee that these chemicals will not cause any symptoms. Different chemicals which might seem innocuous and be used very frequently can turn out to be potentially harmful in the long run. If the chemicals used in the food products falls under this category than we cannot say that they cannot be the cause for the symptoms. Moreover the chemicals individually might not have any harmful effects but their combination with other food items or chemicals might be harmful. The company needs to investigate the reaction of it's pet foods with other pet food ingredients.

Some chemicals may not show harmful effects in the beginning but upon repeated use they might start to be harmful. It is important to the time between consumption of the pet food by the pets and the time by which they began showing the symptoms. The symptoms might not be visible immediately after consumption and might show up after a period of time. In this case determining the long term effect of the chemicals used is important. Conducting analysis just for figuring out if the chemicals used are sufficient is not going to be enough. Thus, the company should carry out studies with this respect rigorously.

It is also important to know whether the company has recently changed it's pet food ingredients. This is important because if the company has changed the ingredients, it is possible that the pet food recalled by them is different in composition from the pet food over which the complaints of symptoms have been raised. If the ingredients were indeed different then the claim that only approved chemicals were used is not valid anymore. If the ingredients were changed the company cannot assume or extrapolate the results of analysis of the 4 million pounds of pet food to the food that was actually being consumed.

In conclusion, the company needs to keep investigating the effects of the chemicals being used in pet food and not just rely on the assumption that using approved chemicals will not cause any problems. The chemicals may be harmful in the long run and if not analyzed properly will continue to cause problems. It must thoroughly conduct studies to understand the effects of chemicals under different circumstances and note down potential problems if any.