The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The world we live in changes every day, it keeps evolving and getting better each day with new technologies and inventions. The amount of human involvement in many tasks has been reduced greatly by new technologies which provide faster and efficient results. A lot of things that in the past would have treated as just chimeric have indeed been achieved. Companies vie for excellence and provide better services by spending resources that would provide better solutions and technologies to ease the daily activities that we are involved in.

Some people are of the opinion that the conveniences and luxuries that these new technologies, this new life provides us stymies our growth as independent and strong individuals. They believe that we are so used to getting things done quickly with minimal effort in a short span of time that we have become too dependant on them. We use calculators for doing simple multiplication that we too can do without the help of a calculator, but we abstain from putting an effort to do it ourselves. While it is true that we may have become dependent, less actively involved in the work we do I do not fully agree that these conveniences hinder our growth as individuals.

The conveniences that we have today were not easily given or obtained by us. There has been a lot of efforts involved to make these tasks simple and consume less amount of our time. The time and efforts that are saved indeed help us spend it on something new. It breaks the cycle of repetitive work and affords a chance to explore new challenges. If we were to measure development not just from our ability to do basic work but also from how innovative we can be, how we could develop something that works independently and is scalable, we will realize that we have a lot of opportunities to learn and grow. We could also say that in today’s world the quality of a strong individual should not be measured only by his ability to do something but also by his ability to develop/invent something that works on its own. These things have made us dependent, but isn’t this the whole objective of development? That we spend less effort and time on some work.

Some might consider mobile phones and the internet a mere luxury but look at the opportunities that it has provided us. Colleges have started distant education programs in which students can learn from any part of the world they are in. For people who cannot afford to shift to a new country, this is an excellent opportunity as it helps them develop and enhance their skills. Thus, I think that, although we can argue to some extent that we have become dependent on the luxuries of our contemporary lives, this does not mean that we have stopped being independent individuals, instead the way we live has changed.