Some people believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society, especially among children. Others believe that children's peer groups and parental role models are a much more powerful influence on children's behavior.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

The media plays a vital role in the functioning of any nation. Media conveys important information regarding almost all aspects ranging from education politics to sports, so on and so forth. The accuracy of the information and the adeptness with which it is provided, decides how well the people receive it. Media gives us information about events which we otherwise would not have known. It changes the way people look at things, it influences thoughts and sometimes action. The influence of media on daily lives of people is irrefutable. Recently there has been a debate around the reasons for increasing violence in the society especially amongst children. Some say that the increase in violence in society is a direct result of the increase in violence in the media, while some argue that behavior of children is dictated by the way they have been groomed and the peer group they have.

I do not agree that the increase in violence in the media is the cause of the violence amongst children that has been talked about. It is true that media influences the opinions and thought of individuals by the way it provides information, but although it affects opinions it does not dictate action. Although there might be an increase in violence in the media but it depends completely on an individual on how he/she processes it and what he/she chooses to do. How to act based on certain information is a choice made by the individual alone.

The increase in violence among children depends on a lot of factors. The behavior of an individual/child is accretion of all values he picks up from his/her experience. It depends on the environment that they are in. The ecosystem around the child plays a great role in shaping his/her character. For example - A child who has grown up in an environment where there are constant fights and violence among people, will think of violence as normal behavior and not as something which is wrong. On the other hand a child who has grown up in an environment where there has been no violence and every matter is solved peacefully, will definitely not get involved in violence in near future because it would seem aberrant to him/her.

"A man is known by the company he keeps" is an epigram that suits best when we talk of behavior as a human nature. The friends we choose to be with influence not only the way people look at us but also what we think and do. The same is true with children, children are easily influenced by what others do and they want to do it too. Thus a child will want to do what his/her friend does and it sub consciously affects the way he/she thinks and shapes their character when they grow up.

Thus, although the media does affect how people/children think, how they act depends on various factors ranging from the environment they have grown up to the group of friends they have. The media acts as source of information but how that information is processed by an individual what he/she extracts from it and how they choose to act upon it is subjective to the reason discussed in the above passages.