Many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Discoveries and inventions form the backbone of human evolvement, with new advances in fields of medicine, technology, and sciences delivering new resources to human development.

These discoveries require a lot of rigorous research and analysis efforts, with analysts/scientists working for years to produce something substantial. With the help of new tools, we surely have aided the research efforts but as we grow every day the problems that we face eventually increase in complexity, whose solutions are convoluted. Thus, the field of research and inventions is an ever-growing one with new requirements/problems popping up now and then.

The research efforts whether in the field of engineering or medical science or economics though given ample resources and time may not always turn out efficacious. Since we are trying to find a solution to a problem never faced before we cannot always be sure that efforts would be effective. What is also an amazing factor about creations is that although most of them are intentional, produced through years of work and deliberate plans and efforts, some of the discoveries are indeed accidental! I agree with the statement that sometimes discoveries are accidental, and they give us answers to questions entirely different from those we had.

For example - A research team working to develop a product to reduce engine fuel consumption follows a plan and invents a product. On testing it they find out that it does not reduce fuel consumption, but the tests found out that a specific compound used in the product could filter out the carbon waste much better than the traditional compounds that are in use. Thus, they were not able to produce an efficient fuel consumption product, but they ended up finding an entirely new compound.

These accidental discoveries may bring forth ideas that we may never have explored before. They might be solutions to anticipated problems or be cardinal to improving the already existing products. They might open an entirely new line of study which will further help the development in that field. Some might argue that nothing is accidental, that when chemical A is mixed with chemical B will produce chemical C, but just because the scientist missed a phenomenon, he expected it to produce chemical D. Thus, claiming that it is not accidental but merely a mistaken effort. Although this claim might be true in some cases it does not necessarily mean that the accidental discoveries made are not useful, also since we are trying to find/invent something that has never existed these mistakes can be condoned.

It is also true that in some cases where the invention is urgent and must produce something that solves the matter at hand, we must keep aside the accidental inventions for later investigations and concentrate on the matter at hand. Thus, I believe that an invention or a creation whether produced through deliberate efforts or by an accident is equally important for our growth. With each having its significant contribution to the development and the problems we face.