Claim: The emergence of the online “blogosphere” and social media has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the United States.

Reason: When anyone can publish political opinions easily, standards for covering news and political topics will inevitably decline.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The emergence of social media has been a topic of much discussion in the recent decade. Social media has emerged as a platform that connects people remotely or distantly located. It has introduced new ways of communication and has changed the human life over the course of its development. Apart from the social connect that it provides many individuals have been successfully using it as a platform to showcase their skills and earn lots of money through it. Many people act as influencers and create trends that are followed by many. Social media also acts as a platform where people can voice their opinions, share their thoughts, motivate other people, etc. Apart from the social connect that it was supposed to build, it has been used for various other purposes. It can influence not only the daily lives of people but also the factors affecting a nation as a whole.

Political opinions for example are now being discussed upon or debated on a wide range currently. Many individuals express their opinions through form of posts or blogs. They discuss about the political agenda, the candidates and where the national politics is headed. These blogs and social media posts help them to make sure that their opinions are heard by many people which would not have been the case otherwise. People who were not comfortable to openly discussing politics are now taking keen interests and commenting about their opinions. Blogs and social media have given them a platform which they are comfortable using resulting in people being more forthcoming.

The fact that they are discussing these things means they are more cognizant than before. Expressing an opinion or participating in a debate requires knowledge of the topic, thus making sure that the people who do put up these blogs are more aware because they must do their homework. Some people are of the opinion that since a lot of people are discussing or blogging the standards of coverage of political topics will decline. This is not completely untrue.

Although, social platforms have given people the opportunity, it has also engendered the rise of frivolous discussions and irrelevant redundant bloggings. Dilettantes claim to have great erudition and regularly flood the social media with opinions or discussions which are irrelevant. Amongst the plethora of information it is difficult to identify genuine information. It is difficult to understand and segregate important topics and information. This does have an impact on the discourse of any event. It does not give us the actual picture.

The increase in the number of online discussions does help ensure that people are more involved in the politics or discourse of any event in the nation. It gives them an opportunity to express themselves while being in their comfort zone. On the contrary this platform also creates some unnecessary flow pf information which might wrongly represent a situation and thus wrongly influence the corresponding events. So, overall I would agree that it is a balanced situation right now wherein people must participate but not without keen interest and proper knowledge.