The following appeared as part of a petition sent to residents of Youngtown by an environmental protection group:

“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The petitions urges the residents of Youngtown to prevent the development of land that comes under Wildlife Preservation. The corporation to whom this land would be sold are planning to build a hotel which will disturb and harm the sanctuary and the bird species. The petition makes a lot of assumptions which arriving at conclusion and does not clearly delineate on the factors that it says would be harmful. The claims are not backed with any evidence and seem to be just an abstract idea with little support.

The argument says land would be sold to Smith Corporation and then the development would happen. If the land has not been sold yet they should instead focus their attempts to prevent this deal from happening. If Smith Corporation are not allowed to buy the land the harm caused by the development as the argument says, would not happen. It says a small percentage of land would be sold how does not enumerate it. This is an important factor because if the Wildlife Preserve has thousands of acres of land and the land planned to be sold to the Corporation is just 0.2%, it's "serious" impact would be dubious.

The argument assumes that the development in this land would have disastrous consequences for the area. It does not say how exactly would it be disastrous? Is it in terms of pollution? In terms of human interference in wild life? This is not very clear. The interference in wild life and other factors called into questions might not be as serious as the protection group estimates .The group believes and assumes that although the company has promised to ensure preservation of the sanctuary, their plans will only cause harm to it. The company might actually take a lot of precautionary steps and have strict guidelines with respect to operations and ensure that they cause minimal disturbance. There is no reason to believe that the corporation plans will be harmful. If they follow procedures rigorously and take care of protocol there might be no harm caused at all. The protection group needs to consider the previous projects undertaken by the corporations in such wildlife areas, if any. This data might give them some idea whether the corporation has previously followed such procedure that they say they will follow in Youngtown.

The argument says the sale of land and the hotel that would be built on it would not benefit the community. Youngstown is famous for its bird species with many tourists visiting the town to see the birds. Building a hotel in the sanctuary land might be a positive point. It might attract more tourists who will want to stay in the hotel from which they could occasionally see or hear birds from their hotel windows. This might attract more tourists and in turn the help develop the economy of Youngstown.

Thus, the protection group needs to be evaluate a lot of factors, find some evidence to back their claims that building the hotel would only be harmful. They need to consider the pros and cons of building such a hotel on the economy of the town and the sanctuary as well. Only when these factors have been rigorously evaluated, should the people of Youngtown conclude whether the development should or should not happen.