Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument states that if inoculations were to be administered routinely, a lot of lives might be saved, but since the chances of death are minimal they cannot be administered regularly. The claim makes some a bold conclusion by saying that since death is a small possibility the administration is not required at all. There are a lot of factors that need to be considered before arriving at such a conclusion. Firstly the possibility of death is said to be small, but it is not enumerated. So, we do not really know what are the chances of a person dying after inoculation. Even if we consider that only a handful of people might die, we still need to administer the vaccinated people for a number of reasons.

Firstly the patients who have been vaccinated may suffer from some side effects of the vaccine. If not administered properly these side effects would exacerbate the health of the already ill patient. The response of patients to the vaccine needs to be monitored over a larger period of time to make sure that there are no flaws. Moreover, if the side effects turn out to be more severe, other patients would be discouraged/afraid of getting vaccinated, thus increasing risk of death. Many patients become vulnerable after inoculation because their bodies are weak, thus increasing risk of contracting other diseases. The vaccine may be effective against the current flu, but what if new strains of the disease develop over time. Would the vaccine be able to fight these new strains? We would not know the answer. Thus, constant monitoring is required to ensure that inoculations are indeed efficacious.

Furthermore, there are other things that need monitoring. The inoculation should be able to completely cure a patient from the flu. There is a high possibility in some cases that vaccination does fight the flu but the patient contracts the flu again after a certain amount of time. If this is the case then should the person be vaccinated again? The long and short term effects of the vaccine must be administered to answer these questions. Only after continuous monitoring and ample data to prove that the vaccine does not have intense side effects, can fight all strains of the flu and other factors mentioned above, can it be concluded that administration is not required.