Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument begins by asserting that since a type of woven basket was found only near the Palea village, it means that it must have been made originally by Palea people. However, a later discovery reveals that such a basket was also found in Lithos, weakening the claim that the basket was made only by the Palean people. There are several pieces of evidence that need to be evaluated before concluding that the baskets were not uniquely Palea.

The argument highly depends on the fact that no Palae boats were found, meaning they could never travel accros the river and goto Lithos, thus, supporting the claim that these baskets were also made in Lithos. However, it might be possible that the founds have not been found yet, further examination might reveal the presence of such boats made by the Palea people. The Palean people might have had some vehicle other than a boat which they used to cross the river, they could have used a raft of huge wooden logs to cross the river. Another possibilty is that the boats made by Palea people were destroyed by some natural calamity or other reasons. The people in Lithos might have had boats made and could have travelled regularly to Palea, meaning they could have bought these baskets in Palea and could have taken them to Lithos. There might be a different way to reach Lithos apart from crossing the river, the Paleans could have used this way to travel to Lithos. Thus, presence of alternative routes, other types of vehicles for crossing river and travel of Lithonians to Palae are some areas that need to be explored.

It is also possible that it was indeed the people of Palea who migrated to Lithos at some point of time through a different travel route, this migration aspect undermines the claim that Lithos people themselves made these baskets. ?The argument has given no information with respect to the time difference between the presence of these baskets in Lithos and Palea. It might be possible that Lithos civilization developed years after the Palean one. So they might have already known about these baskets and could have made/copied them.

If we consider that the baskets were indeed not originally Palean, how could people from two different areas could have made the exact same design if there was no contact between them. It is a possibility that both these people share a common origin and were seperated at some point of time.

Thus, there are a lot of factors that need to be considered and evidence needs to be collected. It is possible that the baskets found were Palean made and its equally possible that they were not. The answers to these questions could be given through more rigorous research and excavation.