People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The character of a person is defined by examining his behavior and decision making skills when put under pressure and exigent conditions. Under such conditions being sangfroid is very important. It is important to think deliberately, keeping aside petty prejudices, weighing the pros and cons and then making a decision. There are two ways people react when put in difficult situation. One is where the situation overwhelms them, fear and anxiety kicks in, they can think straight and end up taking decision in fear or sometimes end up being irresolute and do not take a decision at all. Second is where the person first tries to understand the situation, he acknowledges it, he knows what he can and cannot do, he examines the positives of negatives of all possibilities and only when he is completely sure he takes a decision.

Getting overwhelmed by situations is not a negative aspect of a person, no body is born unflappable, instead it is something we learn or develop by facing difficult situations. Even when the situation overwhelms us we must not give in to fear because it undermines our ability to think straight. Poor decision makers are those who take their decisions based completely on emotion. They do not think, they go on according to their impulse and takes decisions hastily. When you take a decision based on impulse you end up loosing control over the situation. You have to accept the outcome of the situation whether it is suitable or not.

Poor decision makers are further identified by how they react after a particular situation has progressed after them taking a decision. If the decision taken by them in heat of the moment turns out to be good, they base it on impulsive capabilities and power of intuition. If the decision turns out to be a failure they tend to find reasons to explain as to why they took a particular decision. This is entirely opposite of the ideal situation. The ideal situation is the one wherein you take a decision because you want a particular result, in this case their is no justification needed later. Poor decision makers first make a decision and then assign importance to it based on what result it achieves, when ideally it should be otherwise. Thus I agree that poor decision makers can be categorized by their emotional response to a situation and then assigning value to the decision based on what results it achieves