The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The business manager of the televation station stated that they needed to restore the time devoted to the weather and local news as he thought, this action would bring back the audience as well as adverisment that they lost due to the cut of time. This statement needed further evaluation to reach the conclusion.

Firstly, the increase in the late-night news program may not related to its contents. They may repeat the same news over and over again which lead to the boredom of audience and finally stop watching the station. In that case, the statement of the manager will weaken.

Secondly, the number of viewers who complaints also needed to evalute the restoration of weather and local news time. If the number of viewers is insignificant, this statement will weaken. Though viewers are may be simply more curious about the weather and local news, the number of viewers who complaints play the major role here.

Thirdly, the late-night news program may not attract as many viewers as the day-time or prime-time news program does which contributes to the cut in advertisment contracts. There is no data to denounce the possibility and also resoration of time for weather and local news will not ensure the advertising contracts.

Thus, to strengthen the statement of the business manager, there should be more information about the number of total complaints or the amount of decreased revenues. Without further data, it is impossible to evalute the statement