"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

In the memo, the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company express his conclusion as a advertising director that Super Screen should allocate more budget to reach the public through advertising. However, while the conclusion drawn by the director might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions, that if not substantiated dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, the following two questions must be addressed.

First, was the report of the marketing department conducted scientifically? It is possible that they conducted the study when there are less people in the movie theater due to various reasons. For instance, may be they conduct the study on office days or in the time when people prefer to watch movies in the home which will answer the fewer attendance of people. The advertising director does not give any reliable information about the type of the study, marketing deparment conducted whether they simply count the number of people attend in the movies whether it is produced by Super Screen or only for Super Screen- whether they asked the reason for the turnover of people or is it simply the current scenario of any movie theater. The ponit is, the director did not give any representative, reliable and cogent set of data, which weaken the director position in the argument.

Secondly, what percent of positive reviews increased for the movie? Whether this percentage is significant? Or who are the people that give positive reviews. Once again, the author only giving the superficial data with no reliability. The author assumes that the reason people do not go to watch movie in the theater beacause there are less advertise of the movie reviews. It is possible that people read the reviews but do not go to watch them beacause the movies are not in their taste pallets. In this case, the movies good quality does not ensure the great number of people will watch it.

Furthermore, the author need to answer the questions to hold his argument.