The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument, the author concludes that the continuous use of salicylates in the food as food preservatives and flavor additives will decline the number of headaches suffered by average citizen of Mentia. While it is understandable why the citizen would want the salicylates riched food in their diets, but the argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to conclude on the continuous decline in headaches suffer. The author should provide additional three evidences in order to validate his argument.

First of all, the author assumes that as a same chemical family member as aspirin, salicylates can be used for the same medical purpose as aspirin and it will be as effective as the aspirin. Though aspirin is widely known for its use in reduction in pain and headaches, it is still unknown in the scientific community what exactly aspirin do to human body, wheather it numb the nerve or actually reduce the pain in the body. Compairing with the aspirin in the same effect as salicylates need further evidence that they work the same as aspirin and There is no evidence that salicylates reduce the headaches.

Secondly, the author assuming that food-processing companies adding salicylates as preservatives actually help with headaches and stated that the rise in the commercia use of salicylates will decrease the number of case. But the point is, these are the reported cases that the author are trusting for the correlate study. There are no report on the size of the study or the extant of the study that going on over twenty years. There is no representative or reliability of the study that conducted and author need to present more data to represent his or her argument strongly. Again, there are no evidence on the types of question are asked during the study and how much question was dedicated on the topic. For example, the question may be about what the citizen thought about adding salicylates in the food and there may be some propaganda about how effective salicylates in the headaches reduction and there is no side effect as there are some side effect of aspirin like kidney mal-function from regular dose of medication, which may incline the citizen to look positively in salicylates. The author need to provide liability of the study and the distinct of the question asked to the citizen of Mentia.

Third assumption the author made is that food-processing companies have found another new use of salicylates and they are going to replace the former product they used as flover additives with the salicylates. The author stated that this replacement will be successful like there will be no taste differences or any other side issues about the holl process of replacement. Finally, the author reported that their study model actually will represent the behaviour of the citizen issue with headaches. The citizens reason of the headaches may be due to the ongoing construction of the city which is under development program during 20 years, the sound and construction pollution causes the headaches to the citizen living only around the development area and the study conducted on only to these citizen, which have nothing to do with the salicylates use in the food as preservatives or additives. There are lot to assume about the arguments and author needs to clear his position strongly to validate his or her conclusion.

Citizen of Mentia may be suffering from headaches but the author does not give any evidence about how bad the headaches is and wheather they need immediate medication for there suffering or the headaches cure without any need for medication. The authors have assume a lot without giving the validate explanation of his argument and the relation of salicylates with the headaches and the validity to use in the food.