The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The memorandum of the business manager of the television station talks about the shift of time devoted to national news with weather and local news. The business owner has made a lot of dangerous assumptions which are actually not true.

The three assumptions which are particularly dangerous are talked about in the following content.

First, the businessman makes the assumption that the viewers of the late-night programs are more interested in national news than the weather and local news. This might not actually be the case. Are the people really interested in the national news in late-night programs? People who watch late-night shows might be the people who came back from work and are looking to get a brief about tomorrow's weather forecast which might help them take necessary precautions if needed. It might happen that today was a good sunny day but tomorrow is rainy, so knowing the weather helps the person to use an alternative mode of transportation as well as carry an umbrella. There is also another scenario where the person watching late-night programs is interested in local news as that is the news that affects him the most. Say, there as has been some incident on some road and it would not be beneficial to travel on that road tomorrow to work. this helps the person to not arrive late at the office.

Thus, businessman receives complaints about not having adequate weather or local news time.

Second, the canceling of the advertisement of local businesses might not be actually related to the television station devoting more time to national news programs.Is the sole reason of local businesses pulling out their advertisement contracts is due to the station changing time devoted to local and weather news? It is possible that the local business did some research and found out that their sales might increase significantly if they advertised on some other station or even at some other time. It is possible that the target audience for the business might be people above the age of 60 or even small children, both of which sleep early in the night and watch more television in the daytime. It is of no use advertising during late-night shows if there is not much of a target audience. As mentioned earlier, there might be another television station that has a lot more of viewers than the station currently in talk about. Higher the viewers, the higher the sales.

Third, the businessman makes a bold assumption that the station would attract more viewers and avoid losing more advertising revenues by restoring the amount of time devoted to weather and local news. Is "amount" of time the appropriate parameter which is creating all this ruckus? Restoring the "amount" of time might not be the case. Rather the time slot is something which the business man should consider to get back in the game.

In conclusion, it can be clearly understood that the station hasn't put into enough amount of time in research or survey to come to the conclusion. The business man should do some more research and answer the above questions before making a business decision